Annual meeting

Naphsis Awards

Naphsis proudly acknowledges and celebrates the exceptional dedication and service of professionals advancing vital records, vital statistics, and public health information, with the Naphsis Awards recognizing outstanding individuals and teams making a significant impact in the field, benefiting both vital records/health statistics and Naphsis membership.

Dashboard mockup

Early Career Professional Award

The Early Career Professional Award recognizes individuals who show great potential for positively impacting the world of vital records/health statistics in the areas of administration, data management and statistics and/or technology.

2024 Award Winner

Lani De La Garza, MO

Deputy Bureau Chief

Team Excellence Award

The Excellence in Vital Statistics Award recognizes significant contributions of an individual or a team in vital records/health statistics. This may include, but is not limited to, innovations and improvements in the areas of customer service, registration, training, data management and statistics, data quality, field services, or technology. This award is for talented staff who work on the front-line and behind the scenes day-to-day to make things happen.

2024 Award Winner

SSA EDR Committee

Committee Members:

Gretchen Van Wye, NYC
Jeremy Peterson, ID
Devon Priddle, OH
Dana Moore, CA
Judy Moulder, MS
Terra Ankrah, NC

Outstanding Leadership Award

The Outstanding Leadership Award recognizes individuals that demonstrate leadership in the vital records and health statistics arena. Their firm commitment and unyielding drive is needed to take the required steps to protect the records we are responsible for and to improve how we administer the programs and disseminate the data collected.

2024 Award Winner

Kelly Baker, OK

State Registrar

Partner Award

This award recognizes an exceptional non-jurisdictional individual or team that works in collaboration with Naphsis members, the Naphsis Board of Directors,and Naphsis staff to accomplish Naphsis goals and advance its mission.

2024 Award Winner

CDC Division of Reproductive Health STEVE TEAM

President’s Award

This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional achievements and made significant contributions in their field.

2024 Award Winner

Jeremy Peterson, ID

Deputy State Registrar

Nomination Process

Nominations are closed for 2024

Nomination Accessibility

Anyone is welcome to submit a nomination during the annual nomination period. This involves completing an online form and providing supporting documentation. Self-nominations are welcome. All award nominees, except for the Partner of the Year and the Halbert H. Dunn Achievement award, must be professionals affiliated with an organization or jurisdiction that is a member of Naphsis.

Submission Process

When submitting a nomination, carefully review the criteria and choose the most fitting award. Ensure you provide ample detail, and if applicable, include examples of work and activities supporting the nomination. The Naphsis Awards Committee will assess and rate the information you submit, with the possibility of follow-up inquiries for additional details.

Evaluation & Recognition

Naphsis will announce awards to its membership and recognize recipients at a meeting, event, or through virtual platforms. The Awards Selection Committee reserves the right to determine the final award categories. They may choose not to present an award in a specific category if a candidate of sufficient merit is not nominated.

Award Categories & Descriptions

View Past Award Recipients Here

Early Career Professional Award
Outstanding Leadership Award
Excellence Award
Partner of the Year
Halbert L. Dunn Award