top of page

National Accreditation for Vital Records/Health Statistics Units

Vital Records and Health Statistics (VRHS) Accreditation is available through the Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB). PHAB is now accepting applications for VRHS Accreditation. Interested applicants may learn more about the program requirements, including information such as the fee schedule, PHAB VRHS Standards and Measures, and the VRHS Accreditation Guide on the PHAB website.

The PHAB site also has four learning modules on

  1. Accreditation program overview;

  2. the accreditation process;

  3. the standards and measures; and

  4. how to prepare.

Who is eligible to apply?

Vital Records/Health Statistics (VRHS) Units in the 57 jurisdictional areas identified by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) within the National Vital Statistics Cooperative Program (VSCP) may apply. These include jurisdictions where statewide vital records are collected and encompass the 50 states, District of Columbia, New York City, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and Virgin Islands. A state or territorial health department does not have to be PHAB-accredited for the VRHS unit to apply. VRHS Unit Accreditation Standards and Measures are equally applicable to all eligible applicants, regardless of their organizational structure.

Training, Technical Assistance and Resources for VRHS Units preparing for accreditation are available on the Members Only section of the NAPHSIS website. More of these self-guided tools and resources will be developed, so check back regularly while working through the accreditation process. NAPHSIS will also provide one-on-one consultation and assistance to VRHS Units preparing for accreditation. All webinars, presentations, documentation examples and tip sheets will be available on the NAPHSIS Members Only site.

bottom of page